A Rottweiler in Australia
Glimpse into the future
2011-12-14 10:50


A couple of months ago I started a Small Business: looking after animals when the owner is not present (www.animalservice.com.au). So a lady gave me a call whether I can come in January caring for her horses and donkeys while she is undergoing a knee surgery. I went to her place and had a vision to see myself in 20 years: a very old (80 years) crippled woman was trying to get along feeding 3 horses, 4 ponys and 2 donkeys (in three different paddocks). Not to mention xxx sheep, xxx goats, xxx geese, xxx peacocks, xxx chooks, rescued birds in xxx aviaries, xxx cats and (luckily 'only') one dog. She moved in the pace of a garden snail - using a walking stick to get along. No, definitely no: this is n o t the way I want to live (suffer) in 23 years. I love animals, they are my life - but I don't think that it is possible to care for a zoo when standing with one foot in the grave. "I'm okay" she repeated several times. "Only my knee hurts." She really believes that she is back on her feet three days after receiving an artificial joint. No, no, no. This was an impressive lesson I was taught yesterday. I will concentrate on planting native shrubs and trees and revegetate my 8.5 ha property (without stables and paddocks).

comment



kelef, 15. December, 19:00
that exactly is the reason why i adopted a rather small (10 kg), 35 cm, at least five-year-old, limping dog last year. i live in town, and i keep already two cats and about 25 zebra finches. and i have some plants to care for.

my last dog reached the age of about 18 - if i had adopted a puppy, i would have to ask my daughter whether she would take care of it sooner or later.

as i always say if people are talking about having a turtle: are you sure that your great-great-grandchildren will take proper care of it?

Aber es ist so schwierig seinen Geluesten nicht nachzugeben! Wenn auch alles so teuer ist hier unten - ungewollte Viecher kriegt man hier nachgeschmissen - Schafe, Ziegen, Ponys, Hunde, Katzen,... Und ich habe Zeit und Platz und wuerde gern. Ich muss hart an mir arbeiten und mich ablenken um nicht schwach zu werden.

ungewollte viecher kriegt man überall nachgeschmissen, so ist das nun einmal. ich hätte auch gerne ein rudel hunde, möglichst ein paar grosse, aber in der stadt geht das eben nicht und punkt. auf dem land zu leben ist ohne haus und auto auch keine option, vor allem stellt sich eben auch die frage: was ist wenn was ist? auch die option mehrere katzen zu halten ist so eine sache. natürlich wäre für ein oder zwei arme auch noch platz, aber jetzt hab ich ein funktionierendes gemischtes rudel von finken (die ja aber nur in der voliere sitzen), den beiden katzen und dem hund. und mehr wird das nicht.

btw.: meine beiden ältesten zebrafinken-hähne sind schon mindestens 12 jahre alt. stammen also aus dem vorigen jahrtausend. das hat man von der artgerechten tierhaltung: die werden in gefangenschaft ja - und das nur in ausnahmefällen - nur 7 - 9 jahre. hahaha. keine federn mehr am hals, ruppig und struppig, und geschlafen wird nur mehr auf bequemen sitzen. aber laut sind die immer noch wie die jungen.
comment