A Rottweiler in Australia
Fuming
2012-10-25 15:39
SMS: "Please call AGL on 131 245 & quote your account as we were unable to access your electricity meter."

6 weeks ago I terminated the contract with the electricity provider AGL with 19.10.2010. "No problem, all done". On Monday 22.10. I have been at the house and checked whether the light was still working - it was. So I called what's going on, why the power is still connected when I terminated it 3 days ago. "No problem. Your account has been closed. You won't be charged..." And now I got this message. I called immediately and asked why they want to do the reading now when allegedly this has been done before. "We are not doing meter readings on Friday!" "Your account can't be closed until the meter reading has been made" "We don't accept readings by the client"....

comment



clare, 25. October, 15:41
On Monday 29.10. I can drive (80 km) back to the real estate agent, get the key for the gate, drive (25 km) to the house, drive back home. On Tuesday between 8 am and 6 pm (no exact time can be arranged!) AGL will do the reading and then I have to do the same trip to return the key. What would happen when I was working? Or have moved to Queensland? Then I would pay the electricity bill for the next tenant?

conspirations ongoing ...

some years ago the windows in the house i live in were renewed. nobody told anybody. on a monday morning at 08.00 some men were knocking at the doors of the apartments to tell "they would start work now". it was 10 days before x-mas, and -5°c. i am afraid i started shouting a little, and cursing a little, and wishing lots of people to hell - not a little. i was due for a very important negotiation at the ministry of health at 9.00, and just had dressed accordingly. the workers told me that i should just call and postpone the negotiation - as i was a woman, and i was participating, either the negotiation could not be important, or my part could easily been overtaken by some secretary.

i am afraid they still are afraid of upset women in the morning. but after some minutes they "voluntarily" agreed to come back two days later to change the windows in my apartment. and i can assure you they were vey, very polite and careful, even brought their own coffee and cleaned up after work. and thanked me for still being alive. my daughter still is convinced that this was my most brilliant moment of self-restriction (i must have looked like a furious blood-thirsty witch, or something like that - anyhow, quite dangerous, i was told).

Even if I don't know how you look like (normally) I can imagine your performance very well.
I was yelling and swearing but in this case it didn't help. Perhaps if the 'call-girl' would have been in front of me. Sometimes it's easier to discuss in person than on the phone, I think.

i'd rather say it is more impressive if one can talk face to face ...
comment