A Rottweiler in Australia
Dreamtime
2013-02-18 12:17
Now I'm getting crazy. Really crazy. Perhaps I will end up in a psychiatric hospital but when I saw this advertisement I instantly fall in love - again.

"We have 2 camels for sale...."
One of the reasons emigrating to Australia was having my own camel and walking through the desert - like Oodnadatta or Birdsville Track. But my brain always told me to let it be. I'm an old woman and in foreseeable time I will suffer from age-based handicaps. And a camel will live much longer than me. But seeing this picture all my emotions came back. I want a camel. I will get a camel. Not this one in the advertisement. But one from the abattoir. 2 hours drive away is a place where feral camels are slaughtered for the meat market. There I will get my 'Leila' and I will raise her, train her and then do a trip through the desert.

comment



kelef, 18. February, 13:55
this sounds really interesting. leila is a nice name, too. and camels fit very well into the australian deserts, i mean, like a rottweiler. maybe you should think about having a falcon too, this would really make the picture perfect.

but, honestly: this sounds really like an interesting plan. but how are you going to train a camel? i would have no idea. and they are quite huge animals, as far as i know, and intelligent and with their own mind. on the other hand, they are easy to feed, as they eat everything. and they look very nice.

clare will be a little, well, astonished?
comment
 

ach annemarie, 18. February, 18:25
follow your dreams....
please.
we have only one life.
comment
 

w.kluettenrath, 19. February, 22:31
It might be that there is more than one life. Should there be one, the bad thing is, that you usually you don't remember your previous life and your wish to raise and train a camel and ride it through the desert.
Better do it now, as long as you are able to make your dream come true.
And - so far - I've never heard of a lady who was put into a mental institution for raising, training and riding a camel ;-)
comment
 

clare, 21. February, 12:48
Ich bedanke mich recht herzlich bei Frau Kelef, Frau Annemarie und Herrn Kluettenrath fuer die Anteilnahme, das Interesse, die moralische Aufmunterung. Ich werde es langsam angehen (muessen). Der fencer meines Vertrauens ist laut eigenen Angaben fuer die naechsten 2 - 3 Monate ausgebucht, d.h. auf 'australisch', er kommt fruehestens in 6 Monaten. Und ohne bombenfesten Zaun (1,60 m hoch) will ich nicht anfangen. Hier noch ein paar Inspirationen:
http://www.australiangeographic.com.au/journal/a-camel-odyssey.htm
http://dundeecamels.wordpress.com/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robyn_Davidson
Mal sehen, wie weit ich komme - wenn ich denn anfange.
comment