A Rottweiler in Australia
Other "housemates" and "guests"
2011-01-21 23:27
When I arrived in South Australia 6 months ago I rented a little farm with some acreages. My first animals were ten chooks -obviously former cage birds. They were nearly naked and their beaks have been shortened to avoid extensive pecking. Meanwhile their amount is reduced to four - stray dogs, foxes and illness have taken their toll. Around Christmas I decided to make myself a gift: I bought three peacock chicken. I always wanted a peacock, I like the impressive bird, its colours and interesting behaviour. It is not possible to recognize the gender as long as they are small therefore I purchased three chicken so I increased the likelihood that at least one male peacock is amongst them. They are really cute with their little crown on their head.

comment