A Rottweiler in Australia
Tomcat
2011-09-28 14:03
3 days ago I went to the council to hire a cat trap.

"...A person may lawfully seize an unidentified cat, providing that it is delivered within 12 hours to a registered Veterinary Surgeon or a Cat Management Officer .... An individual is not authorized to destroy a cat...."

I don't want to 'destroy' a cat but there is a big black-and-white tomcat roaming on my property. As soon as he takes notice of me he is running away. But when he is moving in a slow pace he is hobbling on three feet. So I borrowed this trap (free of charge for 7 days). Yesterday evening I was able to catch him - and this was a really wild cat! It took me hours to anaesthetize him through the trap wire. He was fighting like a lion and the amount of narcotics was at least 4 times higher than in a 'normal' cat. The reason of his lameness was an old but good healed fracture of his paw including the loss of 3 toes - it was not necessary to intervene. I castrated him, cleaned his ears and administered a flea protection. The night was chilly therefore I wrapped him in a towel and laid him in the back yard. In the morning he was gone - the only reminder of him was his vomit on the towel (consisting of poultry fodder!). Now I'm keen to see whether he will come back eating the leftovers of Kitty.

comment