A Rottweiler in Australia
Hunting
2011-10-01 22:17
animals is a very unwelcome habit of Clare but sometimes I'm unable to avoid it. After 2 rainy days at home we finally went for our regular bicycle tour: approx. 10 km trotting along the gravel road. Suddenly Clare discovered a kangaroo and before I could stop her she was gone. In the distance I watched her running - the roo already far far away. She returned pretty exhausted. I don't like it and it doesn't happen often. Luckily in Australia there are no hunters on every second tree like in Austria. I remember a situation long time ago when we were looking into a barrel of a rifle. We were in the forest for a walk. Our 'hunting dog' - an Afghan hound - securely on the lead and the 12 year old nearly blind, deaf and lame Labrador-mix was allowed to go by himself. The armed hunter was shouting at us to put the dog on the lead otherwise he will shoot him. My husband started wrestling with this idiot. It was a really frightening situation.

comment