A Rottweiler in Australia
Free range chicken and nightshifts
2012-03-20 14:13
are not compatible. Especially if the practice manager is calling late in the afternoon. When I get a call in the morning, no problem - the chicken will stay in their pen the whole day (and certainly during the night). But as soon as they are allowed to leave their stable it is not possible to chase them back into it as long as it's still bright outside. And at 6 p.m. when I'm leaving the premises it is still bright. Last time I tried 2 hours to chase 10 hens and 1 rooster back into their enclosure. I was angry, exhausted, breathless - name it. At last 7 animals were inside - the other somewhere on the property. Luckily all survived the night (this time). Now I discovered a "foxlight" www.foxlights.com . 80 bucks + 13 bucks for the battery. It's working like a small lighthouse and sends random flashes through the night.

comment