A Rottweiler in Australia
R.I.P. my dear Kitty
2012-09-30 11:20
In the morning I was watering the plants in the backyard when I suddenly recognized the intense smell of a dead animal. I looked underneath the house and there she was.



I knew that this was the place she preferred to hide and I looked there a thousand times but because of her dark fur I never discovered her. There was no obvious cause of death so I opened her body. The 'only' but absolutely deadly reason for her death was blood in the pericardium and some blood in her lungs as well. What ever the cause of the heart sac tamponade was - she didn't suffer long and I wouldn't have been able to help her. Although I'm infinite sad I'm relieved as well.

comment



kelef, 1. October, 00:48
i am so sorry for you - and relieved as well. even if she is not with you any more, you can be sure that she has not suffered, and was not killed by another animal or by a car. that is not much, but it helps a little.

things like that happen often enough, as we know - even to humans at a comparable age. nobody actually talks about it - i know at least two young men and one woman who died at under 30 because of the rupture of an aneurism. all three did not know they were in danger. my daughters beloved cat felix died at the age of five: a big neutered maine coon, strong and healthy, 11,5 kg: he slept ON her chest as usual, said "MEOW" and was gone about the same minute. must have been something like that - she did not want for sure, what use would it have been in that case? she could not sleep for about half a year, and was always looking for the second cat, gustav, about every half an hour, waking him up to make sure everything was alright with him.

kitty looked very much like my julchen, btw., and yes: kitty r.i.p..

Recht herzlichen Dank fuer die troestenden Worte. Ich bin froh, dass ich die Oertlichkeit verlasse. Das neue Heim laesst keine Verbindung mit dem Katzerl aufkommen.

Uebrigens: in einem Ihrer letzten Beitraege erwaehnten Sie, dass Sie zur Zeit nicht gut zu Fuss waeren. Darf ich fragen was Ihnen Beschwerden bereitet?
comment
 

w.kluettenrath, 4. October, 03:38
*** sigh ***
You've got my sympathy.
comment